HOME Betting System Horse Betting Tips What to look for Types of Bets Types of Horse Races

How Much Did I Win?

When you bet at the track, the amount you will win is based on the odds of the horse or horses you bet on. At the track, the favorite is the horse with the lowest odds. This horse is likely to run well, but the payout will be lower than horses with longer odds. The long shot is the horse with high odds and if the long shot wins, these bets pay well. The total amount wagered on each race at the track determines the odds for each horse. Bets from other sports books and tracks are not counted in determining odds.

The standard bet at the track is $2. So if the winning horse goes off at 2-1 odds, they pay off will be approximately $6. You get $2 x 2 plus $2 from your wager. If the winning horse goes off at 3-1 odds, you will get approximately $8. You may receive up to $8.80 on this bet. This is because odds are rounded off. So a horse with 3-1 odds may actually have odds of 3.4-1 making the payout slightly higher.

>> Wagerweb Sportsbook <<

Obviously the cup winners get much more. Here we read about some cup winners:

A) The Breeders Cup

The Breeders Cup World Championship is one of the most exhilarating race days for punters and fans. The Breeders Cup Limited, created in 1982, manages and runs the annual races. The final race of the day, the Breeders Cup Classic is one of the most renowned Thoroughbred races of the year.

The Classic is a 1 1/4 mile race on a dirt track and is open to horses three years old and older. The race is run at different tracks each year, although the Breeders Cup is usually run in the United States except for the 1996 races held in Toronto Canada at Woodbine Racetrack.

The Classic showcases the best horses, jockeys and trainers from throughout the world, making it difficult for punters to predict the winners. In fact, many Classic winners are not the favorites and go off at odds of 6-1 or higher.

Previous Classic winners include:
Zenyatta in 2009
Curlin in 2007
Cigar in 1995
Unbridled in 1990

>> Wagerweb Sportsbook <<

B) Triple Crown Winners

Each year, three year old race horses throughout the country and the world race to win the ultimate honor in racing: The Triple Crown. The Triple Crown in the United States is comprised of three races. The first race, the 1.25-mile Kentucky Derby, takes place the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs. The second race is the 1.2-mile Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. The final leg of the Triple Crown is the Belmont Stakes, a 1.5 mile race at Belmont Park in New York.

The Triple Crown is a difficult title to win. In fact, only 11 horses have claimed the title and the United States has not seen a Triple Crown winner since 1978. The following horses have become legends for accomplishing three wins at the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes.

Sir Barton won in 1919
Gallant Fox won in 1930
Omaha won in 1935
War Admiral won in 1937
Whirlaway won in 1941
Count Fleet won in 1943
Assault won in 1946
Citation won in 1948
Secretariat won in 1973
Seattle Slew won in 1977
Affirmed won in 1978

>> Wagerweb Sportsbook <<